South African Trade Publisher of the Year 2016, 2017 & 2019

Search for your favourite author or book


 
For all official information and updates regarding COVID-19, visit the South African Department of Health's website at www.sacoronavirus.co.za
 

Cuddle Me, Kill Me

ISBN 
9781775845935
Format 
Paperback
Recommended Price 
R200.00
Published 
May 2018
About the book: 
Canned lion hunting sprang to the world’s attention with the 2015 launch of the documentary, Blood Lions. This movie blew the cover off a brutal industry that has burgeoned in the last decade or so, operating largely under the radar of public concern.
 
In Cuddle Me Kill Me,   veteran wildlife campaigner Richard Peirce reveals horrifying facts about the industry. He tells
  • The true story of two male lions rescued from breeding farms
  • The exploitation and misery of these apex predators when they are bred in captivity
  • How young cubs are removed from their mothers mere hours after birth
  • How they are first used for petting by an adoring (and paying) public
  • Their subsequent use for ‘walking with lions’ tourism
  • And how, in the final stage of exploitation, they are served up in fenced enclosure for execution by canned hunters – or simply shot by breeders for the value of their carcass, a prized product in the East.
Well researched by Peirce with the help of an undercover agent, and illustrated with photos taken along the way, this is a disturbing and passionate plea to end commercial captive lion breeding and the repurposing of wildlife to cater for human greed.
Other titles by this author 
About the Author
Richard Peirce is best known as a shark conservationist and is chairman of the Shark Conservation Society and the Shark Trust. He has authored several books, including The Poacher’s Moon - an exposé of rhino-poaching. Richard and his wife Jacqui are confirmed nomads who spend half the year in South Africa; their love of wildlife takes them to the bush at every opportunity.

Others also viewed

Elle Evans seems to have finally tamed hotter-than-hot bad boy Noah Flynn, but now they're...
Bestselling author Mike Dooley has always taught that the first step in changing our lives is to...
A gutsy, queer YA coming-of-age story perfect for fans of The Poet X, Roxanne Gay and Feminists...
When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka’s...