South African Trade Publisher of the Year 2016, 2017 & 2019

Search for your favourite author or book

Folktales for Fearless Girls: The Stories We Were Never Told

ISBN 
9780593115220
Format 
Hardback
Recommended Price 
R450.00
Published 
May 2020
About the book: 

Heroines save the day in this empowering collection of folktales from around the world, perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

Curses to be broken. Riddles to be solved. Kings’ favor to be won. These are the standard stories we’ve heard in folktales and fables for as long as we can remember—challenges faced and overcome by princes and knights in shining armor. In Folktales for Fearless Girls, though, we see a different set of heroes charge across the page. In fact, we see heroines.

Wily women and clever girls, valiant queens and brave villagers—these are the people to save the day in this collection of folktales from around the world and across the ages. Long before J.K. Rowling brought us Hermione Granger, well before Katniss Everdeen entered the arena, these fierce protagonists were the role models for strong girls through the ages. Here we read the story of Jimena, who dresses like a man to go fight in a war; of Min, whose cleverness leads her family to riches; and of Nabiha, who outsmarts thieves and wins the respect of the king. With stories from China, Russia, Persia, India, Armenia, the UK, Spain, France, Southern Africa, Egypt, and Germany, this is a collection of tales that showcases the original literary feminists.

With beautiful full-color art throughout to accompany these empowering tales, this an essential book for all girls!

Others also viewed

Learn your shapes in this board book with BITE! A big round sun, a whirling swirling kite and...
Children will love discovering more about the land of Equestria in this early years reference book...
Peter Rabbit goes in the farmer's garden for some radishes. Then, the farmer sees him! Can...