South African Trade Publisher of the Year 2016, 2017 & 2019

Search for your favourite author or book

The Night Diary

ISBN 
9780735228528
Format 
Paperback
Recommended Price 
R165.00
Published 
July 2019
About the book: 

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again  and The War That Saved My Life  comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided country

It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders.

Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together.

Told through Nisha's letters to her mother, The Night Diary  is a heartfelt story of one girl's search for home, for her own identity...and for a hopeful future.

Other titles by this author 

Others also viewed