South African Trade Publisher of the Year 2016, 2017 & 2019

Search for your favourite author or book

The Utility of Force: The Art of War in the Modern World

ISBN 
9780141991603
Format 
Trade Paperback
Recommended Price 
R350.00
Published 
October 2019
About the book: 
UPDATED WITH TWO NEW CHAPTERS
 
'One of the most provocative and startling books ever written by a British commander ... an update of the two great thinkers on war and peace, Clausewitz and Sun Tsu, for our time ... it is for anyone interested in the well-being of our world'  - Robert Fox, Evening Standard
 
Why do we try to use military force to solve our political problems? And why, when our forces win the military battles does this still fail to solve those problems? It is because the force lacks utility. From Iraq to the Balkans, and from Afghanistan to Chechneya, over the past fifteen years there has been a steady stream of military interventions that have not delivered on their promise for peace, or even political resolution. The Utility of Force explains this anomaly at the heart of our current international system.
Other titles by this author 

Others also viewed

Join Haafner Linssen on a journey into the world of crocheting stripes. These patterns are...
For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Sheryl Sandberg and Mary Beard,  Women and...
Every decision we make is a decision about the future. We constantly make choices that affect the...
Ruby Bozarth, a newcomer to Rosedale, Mississippi, is also fresh to the Mississippi Bar –...