South African Trade Publisher of the Year 2016, 2017 & 2019

Search for your favourite author or book

Frogs of Southern Africa: A Complete Guide

ISBN 
9781775845447
Format 
Paperback
Recommended Price 
R500.00
Published 
August 2017
About the book: 
Frogs of Southern Africa: A Complete Guide  remains the most authoritative and comprehensive treatment of the frogs of the region ever produced, covering all aspects of frog and tadpole biology and behaviour.
 
This new edition (with a slight name change) has been thoroughly updated to reflect taxonomic changes based on the most recent research and DNA studies, and includes 12 new species and more than 130 new images. All 169 southern African frog species, and their tadpole stages, are fully described, along with their conservation status, calls, habitat and habits. Identification is made easy with the aid of over 1000 large, full-colour images, keys to species and summary panels on ‘Key ID points’ and ‘Distinctive characters’.
 
Calls for most species can be accessed instantly via QR codes in the book or downloaded from a dedicated website. Spectrograms of the calls are also included in the book.
 
Written by respected authorities in the field, this timely updated edition will be of benefit to all nature lovers, amateur ‘froggers’, students and professional scientists.

Others also viewed

A gutsy, queer YA coming-of-age story perfect for fans of The Poet X, Roxanne Gay and Feminists...
In Iran, 1953, a driver named Behrouz discovers an abandoned baby in an alleyway. When he adopts...
A gorgeous set of four notebooks with an accordion folder for keepsake recipes and notes,...
Life is short. No-one knows that better than seventeen-year-old Lenni living on the terminal ward...